Reasons to be Cheerful …

Haven’t felt like posting for a while. Or reading other people’s posts, for that matter.

It’s not much fun sitting around in somebody else’s clothes – especially if they’re too small for you – while you wait for your delayed baggage to be delivered.

I’ve spent hours online trying to get some response from the airline, who had faithfully promised to keep us informed.

Guess what. Zilch.

8 days we had to wait before last night our bags finally came through. At last we could give our family the presents we’d chosen, the baby clothes we’d bought for our new grandchild, the TV box-sets they can’t get hold of. It feels like our stay with them has begun all over again.

Still, I’ve learned one lesson. Banging your head against a brick wall isn’t so bad, after all Β … it’s really nice when you stop.

 

16 thoughts on “Reasons to be Cheerful …

  1. I was at a scientific meeting, Japan, the American organiser, all 6ft 7in of him, flew in from Hawaii – his luggage went to London. For the five conference days the presence on the podium of him in his Hawaiian shirt (the one he had travelled in) gave us all reasons to be cheerful (our own suits and ties never felt so out of place πŸ˜ƒ).
    I’m glad it’s all sorted out for you now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my bags once was picked up accidentally by a tour group handler and sent from london to norway, back to london, then to me here in Germany. (including medicine a london doc kindly replaced for me so I could fly back.) The norwegian lady who received my similar-looking bag added a small norwegian hair clip as an apology. life is good. and hey, nothing brings you closer to a son-in-law than wearing his clothes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I was younger my dad came home from a trip with a bag he checked that came back looking like a thin grocery bag that had seen some things. Pretty sure there was about 2 shirts left that weren’t torn apart but that’s how we learned to use hard suitcases with airlines. Luckily you were able to give your gifts out πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yeah, 3 days on we’re starting to feel normal again. Your experience makes you wonder what they do behind the scenes, doesn’t it? Next time I’m going to make sure I have at least one change of clothes with me!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.