You Win Some, You Lose Some

Now here’s a word I’ve never heard – Moxie, the latest WordPress Daily Prompt. Googled it, like you do, and came up with this:

moxie

noun

North American informal
  1. force of character, determination, or nerve.
    “when you’ve got the moxie, you need the clothes to match”
Origin
1930s: from Moxie, the proprietary name of a soft drink.
 So I drank it down and wrote this acrostic poem …
M onday, for once, things brightened up. He accepted a decent
O ffer for his run-down house from one who'd lived in it as a child.
X erxes Crumb was on the up and no mistake! How right Ma had been,
I t turned out, to name him after a mighty emperor! On Tuesday  
E verything went black. Moving in, the nostalgic buyer struck oil...

 

Image result for moxie

 

Image: Moxie. Distinctively Different.

13 thoughts on “You Win Some, You Lose Some

  1. Moxie— common word around here, Dave. Sort of like saying someone has balls, if you will pardon the expression. Buying a beat up old house, is definitely an example of moxie. Striking oil was the payoff. –Curt

  2. Well, it just occurred to me that acrostic poetry is a great way to increase one’s vocabulary. I am glad that Mondays can be bright, then I see the good fortune of striking oil for the buyer, and I think that’s probably what will happen to me when I sell, lol!

  3. I have had Moxie cola, in regular and diet forms. I quite like it. It’s most similar to Dr Pepper, among common sodas, though not so sweet. A bit more fruit-y. I’m surprised it hasn’t had a comeback amongst hipster circles, but maybe its Maine stronghold is enough for the company just now.

Leave a Reply

