100 word story: Too Much To Dream Last Night?

You awake from a lucid dream with a sure-fire scheme: to rescue humankind from its hellish vortex of greed, conflict, prejudice, exploitation and inequality. You envisage taking to the airwaves, unfolding beauteous designs for a creative fusion of knowledge and empathy that can vanquish those hungry old ghosts and their howling black dogs forever.

But O, what if your words became a Magnet for the wrong kind of attention? How easy to imagine a secret cabal of dodgy financiers, armament vendors, people traffickers and rabid elitists eyeballing your head above that parapet!

Pull up the covers. Go back to sleep.

 

Image result for avoiding alarm clock

 

Image: Ergoflex

17 thoughts on “100 word story: Too Much To Dream Last Night?

    1. True enough, Opher, think I was having a ‘Kubla Khan’ moment …

      A damsel with a dulcimer
         In a vision once I saw:
         It was an Abyssinian maid
         And on her dulcimer she played,
         Singing of Mount Abora.
         Could I revive within me
         Her symphony and song,
         To such a deep delight ’twould win me,
      That with music loud and long,
      I would build that dome in air,
      That sunny dome! those caves of ice!
      And all who heard should see them there,
      And all should cry, Beware! Beware!
      His flashing eyes, his floating hair!
      Weave a circle round him thrice,
      And close your eyes with holy dread
      For he on honey-dew hath fed,
      And drunk the milk of Paradise.

  1. Oh, what a dream! Can I share it, please? If we all put our heads above the parapet those heartless bean counters and nasty exploitationists won’t know who to shoot at. And there are more of us than them, aren’t there?

    Coincidentally, I was listening to this mandolin piece (https://open.spotify.com/track/6OmgpQJnNxbJVn6HBN8FKF) when I read your Kubla Khan quote about the damsel with a dulcimer and it made the perfect accompaniment. It’s by Israeli musicians so it has a Middle Eastern feel rather than Mongolian and a mandolin isn’t quite the same as a dulcimer but there’s a hint of the exotic that works rather well.

    1. Yeah, those ‘heartless bean counters and nasty exploitationists’ are also in that unholy coalition of terror! Putting your idea together with Opher’s above, it almost seems we have a duty to put ourselves in the line of fire as an act of solidarity with those really at risk.

      The link you sent didn’t work for me but have looked them up on YouTube and their beautiful world music is exactly what inspires those higher thoughts, isn’t it? If only we could channel the natural beauty of art into our daily lives, what more would we need?

      1. That link is correct (i.e. it works for me). Maybe you need to be on that channel of natural beauty called Spotify to play it. 😉 Anyway, glad you liked their music.

    1. Your comment somehow puts me in mind of this famous story from the Chinese philosopher Zuangzi, whose name gives me almost as much pleasure to remember and write down as that of Nietzsche:

      “Once upon a time, I dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither, to all intents and purposes a butterfly. I was conscious only of my happiness as a butterfly, unaware that I was myself. Soon I awaked, and there I was, veritably myself again. Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man.”

      I suppose the true wonder would be an unbroken continuum …

      1. Speaking of Nietzsche – ah! – he said many things on the subject and here is one of them:

        “What we experience in dreams, so long as we experience it frequently, is in the end just as much a part of the total economy of our soul as anything we “really” experience: because of it we are richer or poorer, are sensitive to one need more or less, and are eventually guided a little by our dream-habits in broad daylight and even in the most cheerful moments occupying our waking spirit.”

Leave a Reply

