Pride Cometh Before A Fall

Here are two funny moments from the BBC sitcom Only Fools And Horses. We laugh at Del Boy’s attempt to impress the ladies and at his younger brother Rodney’s attempt to regain his lost dignity. You may have seen these before but it’s well worth focussing on the seriously deluded character Trigger who provides the comic foil in both clips and whose lugubrious, straight-faced clowning is so vital to the humour in each. There’s a sweet innocence about Trigger that contrasts with the brothers’ slightly Bitter edge …

9 thoughts on “Pride Cometh Before A Fall

  1. Thanks for the reminder.

    I was not always sure I liked OFAHs. Some of the humour just didn’t catch me…then there would be moments of comic genius, like these. Lovely.

    1. Know what you mean, Cathum, it’s very London-centric – although the writing quality and warmth of characterisation allowed for deeper moments and belly-laughs alike.

  2. Sir, I should inform you that Only Fools and Horses is a documentary and not a sitcom.There is no need to be embarrassed, this is a common mistake. I am none other than Detective Tony Pastry of New Scotland Yard. My informant has told me all about Only Fools and Horses. And my informant is very reliable: he recently sold me the Moon for only £500 and a pint of mild. He’s very big in NASA, you know. He has also informed me that the Pink Panther films are a series of documentaries. Since then I have modelled my entire career on Clouseau’s work and it has not been easy, I can tell you. If you do not desist in misleading the public in this outrageous manner, I may have to put you under arrest.

Leave a Reply

