100 word story: Centenary Celebration, 2117

Why, nobody knows, but one morning people woke up and stopped buying stuff. They started to make do with what they had. They learned how to look after it so that it didn’t lose its value.

When it fell apart they got it mended.  Repair became big business and craft guilds returned. Quality control improved because consumers demanded things were built to last.

Buying less, people worked less and had time for hobbies they could turn into new work opportunities. People wanted more from their local neighbourhood: leisure activities, fresh produce, communal life.

The Year this began, everybody agrees, was 2017.

Image result for utopia

Image: Singularity Weblog

28 thoughts on “100 word story: Centenary Celebration, 2117

    1. As I wrote it, I was thinking Nah … but it could be that public consciousness is beginning to shift. Impressing the Joneses may be on the wane now that we’re connected with a much wider set of people.

      1. I am for it, and I know others who are also. There is too much chaos in the world to worry about impressing anyone. I love antiques and recycled stuff. I hardly buy anything anymore, except food and hygiene products.

        1. Me too. In the UK we have charity shops – thrift shops in the US, I believe – which we send stuff to and spend time browsing in … that shopping experience without the guilt!

          1. Yes! We have the Salvation Army store, you can donate and buy used clothes at a fraction of the cost. Between my family and friends, we often give away and trade our clothes. All my life I have done this. My mother did it! Maybe I will call this the ‘new chic’… or something 🙂

          2. My mother-in-law came from a thrifty generation … I remember we all laughed at her for roasting orange peel in the oven so that it could be used as a fire lighter … not laughing now! Yeah, a ‘new chic’ based on non-consumption …

  1. I can see it now Dave, people having a pride in their work, in the products they produce, a desire to help others, in being part of a community, making something that lasts and doesn’t need replacing in five years time. Actually, no, I can’t see it happening Dave. Industry would self destruct!

    1. I fear you are right, Steve, though I hope you’re not. My faint hope is that the strange rebellious mood in the air coalesces into a lasting shift of consciousness in a new direction that industry would have to follow. But I was ever the dreamer … used to get told off for it at school!

  2. Entertaining as always Dave, but, unless my fingers have failed me again, I think 2017 is just the 49th anniversary of the Wombles – not the 50th. Of course, a bit of preparation for next year is no bad thing at all.
    It is great to be reminded of their ethos. You have nicely described it and I agree, we could jolly well do with it now😃.
    All the best for the coming year – I’m looking forward to your blogging antics with keen interest (no pressure then!)

  3. Thanks, perhaps trying to compress ideas in 100 words makes it sound a bit like a kids’ story! My idea was someone 100 years hence looking back to the start of a great ecological shift of consciousness. As Christine says, that’s not too far-fetched given the weird public mood at present. As John Lennon reminded us, ‘Everything is the opposite of what it appears to be.’ Let’s hope!

    Have a good year, Mike, I’ll be contributing my four-pennyworth as usual

Leave a Reply

