Drinking Culture

Today’s acrostic is based on the WordPress Prompt Sky

Three lines, I mused, why that has to be a haiku! Piece of cake, I thought, until I tried to think of words beginning with K and Y … er, KY Jelly?

The Writer’s Block beckoned. There was a brilliant blues-rock trio down there. They were called Loaded Dice. They even let me get up and play harmonica for a couple of songs, which was fun. The missus and me drank beer and composed haikus. Here are some of them:

Somebody tolls the
Knell of the dear departed.
Yonder is wide blue.

Southbound whales scoop
Krill way below a becalmed
Yacht, which waits for wind.

Soaring overhead
Kites wheel slowly, reminding
You limits are yours.

See the clouds as they
Keep trying to catch the moon,
Yet still she breaks free.

Surfing the waves, your
Keel airborne, you can’t resist
Yelling at the stars.

So high said the child,
Kicking his ball in the air.
You laugh as he falls.

 

 

 

 

 

So folks, give up driving and watching TV and you too can sit in pubs listening to good music and writing bad poetry! But it’s not all wine and roses. We were pretty off-message by the end of this evening:

Suck pork scratchings to
Kill the unpleasant taste of
Yet more stale old ale.

My missus reckons this is the winner. What do you think?

14 thoughts on “Drinking Culture

  1. Great work. I particularly like the cloud moon images.
    As to the pork rinds:
    Such creative work
    Kapturing the commonplace. (middle high English alternative spelling, or something like that)
    Y- craving for more.

  2. Hmm, might use one of those two to kick off my shared poem … any preference? Thanks, Opher. As to the evening, if I’d not written about it last night I might not have remembered it this morning …

  3. I laughed as I read this post. Haiku are supposed to invoke deep thinking but can they be harbingers of laughter and joy? Read for yourself will be my answer!

    1. Ah, what is the sound of one hand clapping? And why are so many questions impossible to answer? What’s it all about, Alfie? (Answers on a postcard, please, to The Wizard of Oz, Emerald City …)

Leave a Reply

