Advice from Alpha Centauri

Day 5 of my one-man AcrosticFest and I’ve been experiencing yet more interference on the Muse Channel. Curiously, the more I thought about today’s WordPress Prompt Purpose the more aimless my scribbling became.

In desperation I went down the pub – The Writer’s Block, do you know it? – and got talking to this old bloke who reckoned he could sort out all my connection problems. Turns out I needed more cosmic penetration. Now, he’s not the first person to tell me that so I started to pay attention.

And now I’m back in my study – well, my corner of the bedsit – with an empty wallet and THESE …

Look strange, I know, but the amazing thing is … they work. At first there was a whole bunch of big-bang static and then out of the aether came this, er … how on earth can I do it justice? … this ravishing music. Music of the spheres, you might say. My entire body began to, well, pulsate. For some reason I kept thinking, first kiss, first kiss

When I came round, I noticed something written down on my Junior Journo notepad. It read:

Please remember, earthlings, how new you are to the Grand Theory of
Universal Choreography you call Evolution. You are just one
Resident species among many millions, all
Perfectly fitted by Chance And Change to share the bounty
Of your beauteous jewel of a planet. Let all fantasies of foolish
Sovereignty slip away, for you and they can only ever
Exist together. Listen to us, who discovered too late how to dance.

Now what are the chances of that?

 

 

Image: lightinthebox.squarespace.com

11 thoughts on “Advice from Alpha Centauri

  1. Lovely! That’s exactly what I’ve been trying to say to supporters of the Leave campaign in the UK’s EU Referendum debate but your words are so much more eloquent.

Leave a Reply

