Haikumania (The Results)

Well, that was fun!

Fishing online for linked haikus netted some little treasures. My thanks to those who contributed. Their sites are well worth visiting – just click on the names below. The first and last haikus are mine, as is the title.

I shall definitely do this again with some variations gleaned from other blogs. WordPress is the best school I’ve ever been to and this little collaboration has been a lovely learning curve for me. Just goes to show, you’re never too old to learn …

 

mia_28826e

 

Travelling Light

Where to be happy?
Misty lands far away or
here beneath blossom?

Beneath sun and leaf
under an English oak tree
where we breathe and sigh                                   Opher

or sharing our souls
as we nature’s soul share?
The place? In our minds.                                        dunnasead.co

Our minds disconnect
into the sun’s warmth, the wind
a thought on the skin.                                             memadtwo

In the urinous shade
Of the car park’s stairwell, green
Lichens sit and swell.                                                peter boughton

Decay begets life.
Beauty is in the mind’s eye
Here, there, everywhere.

 

 

20 thoughts on “Haikumania (The Results)

    1. So delicate, that one, wasn’t it? I liked them all, really varied, making it a delicious challenge to try and knit them together at the end – just what I wanted! I’m having so much fun, it’s like being a kid again. It’s possible, of course, that I’ve never grown up …

      http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/disney/images/0/00/Peter-pan.png/revision/latest?cb=20140105031325

      Also feel I should recommend your site http://wandering-through-time-and-place.me/ where the superb pictures and fascinating travel writing make your comment above a real compliment. Thanks, Curt!

      1. I smiled, Dave, at the never growing up. I like to joke about that myself. But I also believe it. There is something about being young that allows a freedom to try new things, to view things from another perspective, to be open. Thanks for the recommendation. Like you, I work hard at producing posts that people will enjoy and hopefully learn something new from. Or at least get a chuckle. –Curt

    1. It was very interesting to try and find a way of joining it all up. Two phrases spring to mind – EM Forster’s ‘only connect’ and Louis MacNeice’s ‘things being various’. I have an intense desire to celebrate the simple joys of living, threatened by life-killing consumerism and death-wish fundamentalism alike. (End of sermon!) Your haiku inspired me, thanks.

    1. Thanks, Mirissa … the collective aspect seems to throw up stimulating surprises, doesn’t it? Next time I’ll experiment with a new format and hope for another good response – do please contribute if the muse permits!.

Leave a Reply

