Lost and Found in the Self-Help Section

fullsizerender

You tell me Be Yourself but who am I?
A husband, father, granddad, neighbour, friend,
Performer, viewer, listener, passer-by,
Explorer, seeker, witness - there's no end
To me, no wall where all beyond is yours
And all within is mine. I want the world
In all her ragged glory, free of wars
Where egos clash and propaganda's hurled.
No label can contain the whole of me,
No badge of creed or colour pin me down,
No uniform confer identity,
No flag of mine will flutter in your town -
For you and I are everywhere and none,
Our doors wide open, nobody at home.

			     Dave Kingsbury


 
   

 

8 thoughts on “Lost and Found in the Self-Help Section

  1. Pingback: Poetry Winners |

Leave a Reply

