Homage

My mum was an idealist. She hated cruelty, elitism, xenophobia, greed and selfishness. She would always argue from the heart, her moral values needing no appeal to evidence. She knew what was right and could never understand why others might not share her passionate beliefs in universal  liberty, equality and fraternity.

I recall many occasions when she was surrounded by others trying to make her see how impractical her ideas were – human nature being what it is, they would tell her, not everyone is as good-hearted as you. Wrong, she would reply, what about the man who walked up the steps of the newly-opened League of Nations building after the carnage of World War I – the war to end war, their watchword – what about him? The man who chained himself to the railings, unfurling a banner whose words went around the world: “I ——– (name), from ——– (country), hereby renounce my nationality and proclaim myself The First Citizen of the World” That man, she would say before leaving the room with all the dignity she could muster, is the person I admire.

no_more_war_by_bashir7-d57ybvg

Bless you mum, long gone but never forgotten, I wish more people thought and felt as you did …

10 thoughts on “Homage

  1. Followed your link to here David…seem to have run out of replies on the other thread 🤔

    Very nice dedication and remembrance. I ought to do that more myself. I got stuck on her MND diagnosis and time has left me with that rather than what went before. Thank you for reminding me it’s not always dark in the past.

    1. The past is nothing if not a lamp to lighten present darkness and shine into the murky future … ha, did I just say that out loud? I like blogging because it helps me work out what’s important and remembering my mum – not in death but in life – came high up the list. Thank you for the compliment.

      1. The, my new friend, is bordering on the profound…as was my youngest son on deciding the past was made up because he wasn’t there 🤔

        Blogging is, oddly, growing on me although at present I am spending more time trolling other people’s and commenting rather than going uber prolific on my own…although I may have to write a muse upon Computer Say Yes in apposition to its predecessor.

        Was the urge to relocate the missing uber story derived from a remembrance of your mum?

        1. Your son ain’t far wrong – history is a story and even memories are edited each time we take them out! Sounds a wise kid! Your computer idea sounds interesting – what was its predecessor? My missing story was very idealistic, so I suppose you could say it’s her influence that tuned me into it in the first place. If I don’t find it, I’m going to have to come up with something like it myself – for kids and for the kid in every adult, you might say …

          1. Too wise at times, but that’s kids I guess. History is indeed a story but sifting true facts from the victors version is debatably hard. The computer issue lead to a post on my blog entitled Computer Say No.

            https://fictionisfood.wordpress.com/2016/03/30/computer-say-no/

            It has since been resolved and one felt perhaps a post upon the success criteria leading to this outcome would balance the original rant.

            I think recreating this idyllic story might be quite a fun thing for you to do. Very nostaligic and it might even draw more information out of storage in the mind to assist with the quest.

          2. I had read your Computer Say No post and found it funny and useful (good combo!) but then forgot I’d read it! Age-related, probably, but they say early memories are the last to go so I should be able to unearth more about my story. Your point about drawing info out of storage is not something I’d thought of, Gary, so thanks!

  2. The curse of time my friend that one…although I know what you mean. Look on the bright side though whilst optimistically drinking from that half filled glass the older the grey matter gets the more ancient the memory awakened.

    I’d suggest maybe not tapping directly into the quest story but a memoir…events leading up to where you heard it, read ir or had it spoken to you. Stalk it like some hunter chasing down a kill. Diving in might just push it away. I rather think it needs teasing out…more clues good Sir!

    Alternatively I may be talking more gibberish 🤔

  3. You had an amazing mother. Not everyone can see things her way, I wish more people were her way than like this. I am someone who tries to save this side of myself, this ‘idealistic’ side- where I want to believe in the good and strive to be that good. And it’s tough to find people like your mother, these people just seem to get lost in the midst of this planet. Thank you for reminding me of people like her ❤

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Mon. It’s always a struggle to keep optimism about people going, especially when they screw up in the thousand and one ways they do. But I couldn’t function without my ability to see the good, even if one has to be rather creative in keeping it going. 🙂

Leave a Reply

