Only Us

Ah, what the hell!

Here’s me fantasising about breaking out of my acrostic straitjacket and letting rip with cascades of free-verse epics and oceans of prose extravaganzas, when along comes another WordPress Daily Prompt with a word I can’t resist!

Show me a person who does not feel Guilty and I’ll tear up their application form to the Them & Us Club 

G uileless, taking stuff on trust, we set a timid foot
U pon the road of dreams. Elsewhere, far beyond all love,
I t seems that hatred wove a labyrinth of selfish lies.
L et us awake to the hurtful truth. We slept upon our watch.
T ell children, when they ask you straight, that black and white make grey
Y et don’t forget yourself where credit’s due or lost that day.

 

Image result for black white grey

 

Out walking the other day, I saw this scrawled on the back of a road sign:

forget yourself

I’m trying, believe me, but it’s hard. Maybe when I do, those epics and extravaganzas won’t be far behind.

In the meantime, I’ll content myself with this supreme example of collective self-effacement in the brave hope of a better way, broadcast live to the world and shown here with subtitles in two languages to symbolise shared international  values …

 

Image: The Brainzooming Group

5 thoughts on “Only Us

  1. Hi Dave – how you doing? I’m really struggling this end with some extremely nasty trolling all emanating from one exceptionally unpleasant character. Whatever you do it sets a tone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m good, Opher, as the young folk say. Really sorry to hear that your excellent site is being blighted by the ugly stuff. Will stop by and maybe put in my fourpenny-worth … best wishes, anyhow!

      Like

  2. We have slept upon our watch. We are guilty. But we have also fought against the dark in our own ways. More than many. Maybe not enough. Of course not enough. It is never enough. But we do make a difference. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.